Some people just really are too full of themselves!

Have you ever been accused of something you did not do? I have, and just recently too! I had someone I thought was a friend contact me on Facebook this morning. He accused me of slandering his name and stealing from him. THAT would have been bad enough, but he also refused to talk to me about the situation. Preferring instead to cut all ties and end the friendship, but not before making accusations against me he refused to back up with fact.

Now since I have no idea what the hell he is talking about, and I supposedly said things that angered him, I thought that I would tell all of you what I truly think of this guy. My guess is it will be VERY different from what he was told.

I have known him about a year, and truth be told we spent a lot of time together, but our common interests, and the fact that he is a musician and I am a rock photographer/promoter gave us a lot to talk about. I won’t mention any names because that WOULD be slanderous, and I have no wish to slander anyone.

So anyway, I’ve known this guy for about a year or so, and we are (were?) good friends. He’s an okay guy, peaceful, sort of spiritual, but only when it serves his purpose. He is a pretty good guitar player, and his music has a unique signature sound to it, but he thinks WAY too highly of himself. His vocals suck, but he thinks they’re great. He’s self centered, but capable of making people think he is a caring person, who doesn’t want recognition for any of the “good” things he does. Secretly recognition is ALL he wants. He is fifty years old and afraid he is past his prime so he puffs himself up and puts on airs to impress people. Truly he is just afraid of growing old alone. He likes to think he’s a genius, and thinks he is master of everything he attempts. Truly the only thing in which he excels is guitar playing, the rest of his efforts are mediocre at best. He is quick to take action when something sparks his interest, but just as quick to lose interest when it does not provide a way for self promotion.

“So why on earth would you be friends with this person in the first place?” you might ask. The answer to that is simple, there is good in everybody if you look for it. He is not a bad guy, just misguided. He has compassion, he is just too wrapped up in promoting himself, and fails to act on that compassion. He was a very giving person once, but life has jaded him, as it does us all to a certain degree. He has not always been treated kindly in the past, and it has affected the way he sees people. He has overcome some very major hurdles in his life, and has lost faith in people along the way, which tends to hamper his communication skills, although he is oblivious to this.

Yes, he IS self centered, but in his defense he grew up feeling like no one cared about him, so he strives to be noticed. I completely understand the feeling, we all have it from time to time, but this man is obsessive about it! But really he means well and once in a while when he gets his head out of his ass, he can be a pretty decent person.

But hey! If he doesn’t want to know me, it’s HIS loss not mine! My only beef is people acting like cowards, and breaking up friendships on Facebook. Grow up buddy! Speak to me face to face, or are you afraid that you might have to answer for your rude behavior and your clearly obnoxious attitude? Or perhaps then you would have to explain your accusations, and since we both know they have no basis in fact, you took the cowards way out. Whatever! Have a nice life Bozo! I am pretty sure I have no trouble getting along without you. Geez! Some people just really are too full of themselves!

Peace Out!

Rants & Tickles

Leave a Reply

