…when you work for something you get rewarded for your efforts.

So, summer is over and the kids are back at school. Whew! What a relief that is! Don’t get me wrong, I like kids, I just don’t like them in my yard screaming their heads off making my dogs go insane. Best place for them is in school and very far away from me! I have raised my kids and now I prefer the kind of children that you can give back when you are done with them! You know, OTHER PEOPLE”S CHILDREN! The kind I can fill up with sugar and send home to their parents knowing they (the parents) will be secretly cursing me when junior fails to go to bed on time because he’s on a sugar high, and can’t sit still.

Kids these days are the bane of my existence, but maybe that’s because parents these days are idiots. Now again don’t get me wrong, there are some amazing parents out there still, it’s just not the norm. These days most parents seem to go through life oblivious to the fact that it is their job as parents to raise responsible, moral, law abiding citizens who will grow up to be an asset to society not a burden on the welfare system. Problem is kids these days seem to grow up with a sense of entitlement as if the world owes them something. Quite frankly I just don’t get it. How does this happen? How do we take children and turn them into adolescents that expect us to hand them the world on a silver platter?

There are a lot of things we could blame this on. Society’s desire to shelter them from hardship is one thing. I have read several reports recently about teachers suspended or fired from their jobs for handing out zero marks for work not handed in. WTF??? Now we can not grade accordingly? I don’t get it. I mean how do you teach a work ethic when not allowed to give marks that reflect the work handed in or in this case, not handed in? When there are no consequences for homework not done, how can you expect kids to learn you get what you work towards?

No wonder so many of our teenage children sit around at home waiting for handouts from Mommy and Daddy, no one has taught them that when you work for something you get rewarded for your efforts. They have been taught that it is someone else’s responsibility to provide for them, someone else will give them everything they demand. Someone else will pay that bill, fill the fridge with their favorite foods, and tolerate their bad behavior on a daily basis.

We put a label on them all! This one has ADD, that one ADHD, it’s the disease causing them to act out it isn’t their fault! This one doesn’t take criticism well so we can’t give him a zero on the uncompleted homework from yesterday because it will hurt his self esteem! Hmmm, how the hell did my generation get through life? Back when I was coming up bad behavior was bad behavior, there was no such thing as ADD or ADHD. If you didn’t pay attention in class, notes went home to parents, and you were punished for acting out until you learned to behave. These days when junior comes home with a note that says he’s been acting out in class Mommy sends a letter back telling the teacher “oh it’s just his ADD there is nothing we can do about it. You will just have to find a way to deal with him.”

What I would like to know is exactly when did society decide that bad grades were not to be given? I mean, how the hell are we supposed to teach kids anything if we are not allowed to tell them they are not grasping the concept? If evaluating their true progress is to be prevented to preserve their “self esteem” how are teachers supposed to paint a true picture of junior’s ability to learn? If kids aren’t getting marked on the quality of the work they are producing aren’t we pretty much allowing them to be pushed through the school system without really knowing whether or not they have learned anything?

Just my opinion.

Janette

Leave a Reply

