Boko Haram you have no RIGHT!

I strive as we all do to try to understand what takes place in our world. I fail, miserably because I just can not conceive of an existence in which oppression and violence are a daily way of life. I have no understanding of a culture whose religious beliefs change according to whom is currently in power and what they believe in. I have no concept of what it’s like to live in a world in which I am considered an “infidel” because my God might have a different name than someone else’s.

I was raised in the western world. A world in which I am afforded a right to education, a right to free thinking, and many other rights and freedoms unknown to women in other parts of the world. The idea that a radical Islamic group could kidnap hundreds of school girls and use them as pawns in a ridiculous fanatical religious war has me reeling. I mean, I know it has happened, but I am still trying to get my head wrapped around the concept that someone thinks that this is their right. I am really having trouble with the concept of any religious belief that encourages or condones the ABUSE of children.

Women and children should be cherished and protected. Without them the human race would cease to exist. Excuse my “western thinking” but no life is unimportant. The way I see it (not that anyone asked) is very simple. No matter what our religion, no matter what our race, or skin color we are all human beings. When we bring children into this world we are given one task, the task of raising intelligent, moral, contributing members of society.

That task is not gender specific, it remains the same whether you birth sons or daughters. You still must educate them, teach them moral responsibility and provide them with a sense of social consciousness. The idea that anyone’s “God” decreed girls should not be educated is absolutely ludicrous. Excuse my western thinking again but I refuse to believe that any god would expect or require women to remain ignorant slaves to their male counterparts, (okay so at least not any god I’d care to worship.)

I guess the thing that really bothers me about extremist groups like Boko Haram is their potential to do serious harm to a world already falling apart. So much of the world seems at war with itself that anything could be the spark to ignite the fire of an epic world war, a war which much of the world might not survive. Mankind could wipe itself out in a stupid argument about whether or not a “god” meant for women to be educated.

What scares me most about Boko Haram is that their history of violence is proven they are known to assassinate those who criticize them, and have successfully kidnapped people in the past  These are the type of extremists that don’t back down. Life means so little to them that they think nothing of taking it to prove a point. They are the kind of people that kill their victim and then blame the victim for “making” them do it. They are psychopaths. You can’t reason with a psychopath they don’t have the capacity for logical thinking, at least not on any level a sane person could identify with.

When I think about the hundreds of school girls being held by these people my stomach does flip flops. How terrifying is this situation for these girls? They have been ripped from their homes and families, forced to forsake their religious beliefs, and are threatened with being sold into slavery unless the Nigerian government accedes to Boko Haram’s demands. The Nigerian government has already publicly stated they will not negotiate for the lives of these girls.

We have no way of knowing what is going through their minds during this ordeal but CNN did have an opportunity to speak with one of the girls who escaped. Understandably she told them she still felt afraid. She will probably feel that way for a very long time to come.

While the mainstream media is busying bandying about the names of the kidnappers, and giving the right group of degenerates credit for this heinous crime, I do not care what their names are. I refuse to acknowledge them, refuse to name them. They do not deserve the right to be called by a name, or to have an identity, not after stripping nearly three hundred children of their identities. These kidnappers (in my opinion) should be rounded up, forced to convert to a religion they were not raised in and sold at auction as slaves. (not that I condone the slave trade, but in this case I can make an exception)

To Boko Haram I only have THIS to say:

10292137_715183315210467_7291973626481296912_n

 

and MY man agrees!

10171730_715217061873759_2512673818136543042_n

 

Until Next Time

PEACE

 

Leave a Reply

