Why Can’t We All Just Get Along?

So I got into yet another twitter argument the other day.  That in itself isn’t new, it happens all the time, but what was new was the fact that the person I was arguing with arrogantly assumed that I was of inferior intelligence to them simply because I did not agree with his views on the subject at hand. The subject content doesn’t really matter, in fact it could have been any subject the effect is still the same.

When you put yourself out there on social media, you have to expect that you will get some feedback that you don’t like. There are a lot of haters out there and most of them aren’t too fond of anyone with an informed opinion. Especially if that informed opinion clashes with what they themselves believe. Some people are just incapable of agreeing to disagree.

You see I can agree to disagree, I do it all the time. It is the adult way to handle conflict. I am not so arrogant about my intelligence that I see my way as the only way. The problem is that many people do think that their way is the only way, and they will personally attack you just to try to prove themselves right.

Thing is that these people betray their level of intelligence by taking this approach. Those who can not win an argument by using fact, are very quick to attack when backed into a corner they can’t talk themselves out of. They will call you stupid, insult your looks, and sometimes even extend their personal attack on you to include friends and family. They are childish, vindictive, and full of ego.

As active as I am in animal advocacy I have come up against these types more than I would like to admit. They usually don’t get very far with me as I refuse to be baited into returning their personal attacks, but every once in a while one of them will get through my defenses, and when that happens I let them have it with both barrels.

That’s when a funny thing happens, these people start to complain that you have no right to personally attack them. WTF? How does this even make sense? If you personally attack me because you don’t agree with my opinion, and you keep pushing my buttons do you honestly think that eventually you are not going to have your own behavior thrown back at you? Of course you are, and what’s more, you have proven that you do not have the intelligence to understand that you brought it on yourself.

You can disagree with me, I don’t really care what you believe, I am not your keeper. Your refusal to look at the facts and come to a reasonably based conclusion is your problem not mine. However, when you attack me personally because you have no facts to back up your hairbrained theories you are announcing that you are incapable of understanding that your position on the subject does not have to be everyone’s position.

Leave a Reply

